heather-rInterested in transferring to UMD? Heather Rondeau’s on it.

Heather is the University of Minnesota Duluth’s Admissions Transfer Coordinator, and has been in that role since 2014. She works with students who are transferring from 2 or 4 year institutions across the country; however, her primary territory is the local area near Duluth.

Heather earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in French in 2013 from the University of Minnesota Morris. While earning her degree, she was very involved in Saddle Club and Entre Nous (French Club) as well as lots of intramural sports and other activities. She just finished her Master’s of Education at UMD this spring where her research focused on transfer student retention.

10256186_10151960583277610_8124420906323367784_n
Heather with UMD’s bulldog mascot: Champ!

What’s your favorite thing about UMD?
“My favorite thing about UMD is the people. Even though it’s a large campus, UMD still has such a community vibe. Everybody is friendly and welcoming and I immediately felt like I was part of something. I’ve met some amazing people and made some great connections. I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else!”

Why did you decide to work with transfer students?
“I actually went to a transfer fair in February 2014 and sat in on a transfer advisory meeting. I realized how many issues there are in the world of transfer and wanted to help those students. I’ve always had the mentality that if you want something done right, you gotta do it yourself, so I bravely asked my supervisor about the role. Two months later, I had interviewed and been hired as the Transfer Counselor and haven’t looked back. It was the best career decision I’ve made.”

534686_10151078051267610_1484930160_n
Horses have played a huge part in Heather’s life; especially her horse, Mariah – shown here!

What’s your favorite thing about working with transfer students?
“My favorite thing about working with transfer students is that each student has their own story. I really enjoy learning about where they come from and how they got to where they are today. I also like puzzles and because each student is different, I have to figure out how their puzzle pieces fit together and will work with becoming a student at UMD (i.e. figuring out how their credits transfer) which is very fun and rewarding when the pieces fit nicely.”

14764648976_2de6f46d39_k
According to Heather, “Duluth’s views never get old. It’s nothing you expect to see in the Midwest.”

What is your favorite thing to do in Duluth?
“My favorite thing to do in Duluth so far is to sit on a bench in Canal Park with my Caribou Coffee and watch the ships arrive and depart from the harbor. I’ve always been fascinated that these large vessels can float, so watching them is one of my favorite pastimes. I can’t say I don’t like people watching down there either since it’s a huge tourist spot year-round. If you didn’t know, the museum down in Canal Park has about 400,000 visitors each year!”

What is your favorite restaurant in Duluth and why?
“My favorite restaurant in Duluth is Northern Waters Smokehaus. I absolutely cannot eat enough fish, so this gives me an opportunity to get a delicious fish sandwich. My favorite is the Slammin’ Gordon which is a salmon sandwich. They are opening a second branch of the restaurant right near campus… This may pose a problem for me! Ha!”

Have transfer questions? Contact Heather at 218-726-8615 (office), 218-348-9699 (cell), or hrond@d.umn.edu.

