Hey, Transfer Students!

Are you a resident of the states of Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Ohio or Nebraska? Do we have news for you!!

UMD recently joined the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP)! MSEP gives out-of-state students an opportunity to pay only 105% of resident (in-state) tuition.


MSEP participants must be degree-seeking undergraduate students and meet all regular admission requirements. To be eligible for the MSEP tuition rate at UMD, a student must:

  1. Be a legal resident of Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, or Nebraska. (Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota students are covered under the University’s reciprocity agreements.)
  2. Apply and be accepted for undergraduate admission. Consult the Office of Admissions for more information.
  3. Be an applicant who is enrolling at the University of Minnesota Duluth for the first time beginning fall semester 2017 or after. New freshmen and transfer students will be automatically considered for MSEP upon completion and review of their application for undergraduate admission.
  4. MSEP participants are eligible for most UMD new student academic merit and special talent scholarships based on the criteria of each scholarship.

MSEP undergraduate tuition rates will be calculated at 105% of the resident (in-state) tuition rate. This rate applies only to undergraduate enrollment through the Duluth campus of the University of Minnesota. MSEP benefits pertain to tuition only. MSEP participants will be responsible for all other fees associated with undergraduate enrollment. The MSEP tuition benefit cannot be retroactively applied to tuition assessed prior to fall semester 2017. Provided that eligible students remain enrolled as continuing undergraduates at UMD, MSEP status will be automatically renewed annually.